Members

Tearney Lab Members and Staff

Matthew Beatty
Research Engineer
mbeatty1@mgh.harvard.edu

My work at the Tearney Lab involves designing and manufacturing the mechanical, optical, and electrical systems for our various products. As a member of the engineering team, I also strive to follow our design control process to take projects from a medically relevant concept to a fully functional clinical product

Emilie Beaulieu-Ouellet M.S.
Optical Engineer
ebeaulieuouellet@mgh.harvard.edu

 

Qinrui Cheng
Undergraduate Student
qcheng3@mgh.harvard.edu

My research interests include OCT systems and photoacoustic imaging.

Princess Cruz
Administrative Assistant
pcruz@partners.org

I provide administrative support to our group as well as manage our group’s purchasing.

Dongyao Cui
Graduate Student
dcui1@mgh.harvard.edu

Paul Dannenberg
Graduate Student
pdannenberg@mgh.harvard.edu

Connor Dean
Research Technician
ckdean@mgh.harvard.edu

My role in the lab ranges from clinical regulation of our wide of current projects to bench and clinical application to device manufacturing assistance. In each capacity, I work within multiple projects to facilitate a smooth translation from benchtop to the clinical setting.

Dukho Do, Ph.D.
Postdoctoral Fellow
ddo3@mgh.harvard.edu

My research is focused on the development of in vivo microscopes, including spectrally-encoded confocal microscopy (SECM) and spectrally-encoded endoscopy (SEE) to solve challenging medical problems.

Jing Dong, Ph.D.
Postdoctoral Fellow
jdong@mgh.harvard.edu

My research is focused on developing the next generation Tethered Capsule Endomicroscopy devices and translating them to clinical studies.

 

Badr Elmaanaoui, Ph.D.
Visiting Scientist
belmaanaoui@mgh.harvard.edu

Ali Fard, Ph.D.
Research Fellow
mfard.ali@mgh.harvard.edu

My research interests span from nonlinear optics to high-throughput optical imaging and spectroscopy. Currently, my efforts are aimed at the development of high-speed dual-modality optical coherence tomography and near-infrared spectroscopy for cardiovascular disease diagnosis. In addition, I am investigating novel approaches to high-speed high-resolution microscopy.

Timothy Ford, Ph.D.
Sr. R&D Engineer
tnford@mgh.harvard.edu

I lead the engineering team at the Tearney Lab and support the development of clinical devices from the benchtop to the clinic. Our team manages a growing rapid prototyping facility equipped with manual and CNC lathe and milling machines, injection molding equipment, a host of 3D printing technologies, and circuit design and fabrication tools. We also provide support for optical fabrication and clinical manufacturing in a cleanroom space.

Joseph Gardecki, Ph.D.
Senior Research Scientist
jgardecki@partners.org

My research activities will be directed toward advancing the detection of atherosclerotic plaques though intracoronary Raman spectroscopy.

Catriona Grant, BSN, RN
Clinical Research Nurse
cngrant@mgh.harvard.edu

My work at the Tearney Lab focuses on the clinical application of the technology. I identify and recruit eligible patients for studies, coordinate all aspects of the patient’s research study visit, and assist with data collection and analysis. In addition, I also operate the research device during certain study procedures and serve as a member of the regulatory team.

Lisa Higgins
Project Manager
lhiggins1@partners.org

I am managing projects that build upon the lab’s capsule endoscopy technology to aid in research for children with Environmental Enteric Dysfunction.

Chulho Daryl Hyun
Research Engineer
daryl.hyun@mgh.harvard.edu

As part of the design team, I work on various projects on OFDI/micro-OCT, SEE/SECM and their peripheral technologies. My current interests are: fabrication of imaging probes and fiber optic rotary junctions. 

Mitsuhiro Ikuta, M.S.
Visiting Scientist
mikuta@partners.org

My work focuses on spectrally-encoded endoscopy (SEE) and its clinical use.

DongKyun Kang, Ph.D.
Instructor in Dermatology, Harvard Medical School
dkang@partners.org

My research focuses on spectrally-encoded endoscopy (SEE) and spectrally-encoded confocal microscopy (SECM) and their clinical uses.

Huimin Leung, Ph.D.
Postdoctoral Fellow
hleung@mgh.harvard.edu

The focus of my work is on the development of high-resolution micro-OCT imaging systems for both clinical use and laboratory research purposes.

Li Li, Ph.D.
Research Fellow
lli24@partners.org

My research focuses on advancing photoacoustic sensing and imaging towards real-world clinical applications.

Chia-Pin Liang, Ph.D.
Postdoctoral Fellow
cpliang@mgh.harvard.edu

My research interests include development of novel micro OCT catheter probe and OFDI light source for clinical and biomedical research applications.

Mohini Lutchman, Ph.D.
Visiting Researcher
mohini_lutchman@hms.harvard.edu

I am a neuroscientist with research expertise in human and mouse cancer genetics, cancer biology, proteomics and metabolomics.  In addition, I am a member of HMS/HST Anatomy Teaching Faculty.  My interest in cancer cell imaging and translation led me to the Tearney laboratory where I am involved in an analysis of OFDI images obtained from Barrett’s Esophagus patients following ablation.

Valerie Madden
Clinical Research Program Manager
vmadden@mgh.harvard.edu

I work with the Clinical Regulatory Team to translate our technologies to the clinical setting.

Diana Mojahed
Research Assistant
dmojahed@partners.org

My research focuses on validating our µOCT microrheology capabilities and assisting in the development of a novel OFDI probe for the diagnosis of otitis media.

David Odeke Otuya, Ph.D.
Postdoctoral Fellow
dotuya@mgh.harvard.edu

 

Lucille Queneherve, M.D.
Research Fellow
lqueneherve@mgh.harvard.edu

Rohith Reddy Ph.D.
Postdoctoral Fellow
rreddy1@mgh.harvard.edu

My research interests include the development of uOCT probes for in-vivo clinical applications and novel instrumentation for endomicroscopy.

Mireille Rosenberg, Ph.D.
Research Scientist
mrosenberg@partners.org

Gargi Sharma, Ph.D.
Postdoctoral Fellow
gsharma3@mgh.harvard.edu

Kanwarpal Singh, Ph.D.
Research Fellow
ksingh@partners.org

The objective of my research work at MGH will be to develop and test μOCT for diagnosis of coronary artery diseases.

Crystal Spencer
Office Manager
cspencer9@partners.org

Yogesh Verma, Ph.D.
Postdoctoral Fellow
yverma@mgh.harvard.edu

I am involved in the design, development and validation of advanced Optical Coherence Tomography systems for clinical applications.

Timothy Vogel, M.D.
Visiting Scientist
tvogel@partners.org

Barry Vuong, Ph.D.
Postdoctoral Fellow
bvuong@mgh.harvard.edu

Kohie Watanabe, Ph.D.
Visiting Scientist
kwatanabe5@mgh.harvard.edu

Daisuke Yamada, M.S.
Visiting Scientist
dyamada1@partners.org

My work focuses on multimodality optical imaging; combining optical coherence tomography (OCT) and fluorescence imaging for diagnosis of coronary artery diseases.

Biwei Yin, Ph.D.
Postdoctoral Fellow
byin@mgh.harvard.edu

My research project is focused on development of uOCT for clinical applications